Cant Move Episode 1 Saves to Episode 2

If you found an error or bug, this is the place to report it.

Cant Move Episode 1 Saves to Episode 2

Postby riceindabowl15 » Wed Jan 20, 2010 3:26 pm

I Jus downloaded the way again and i finished episode 1 and when i went to the way 1 folder to move my stats over, there were no save files
riceindabowl15
Wanderer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: Cant Move Episode 1 Saves to Episode 2

Postby EmperorJeramyu » Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:18 pm

If you're using Windows Vista (or Windows 7 I would presume), make sure none of the program folders are located in the Program Files directory, otherwise the game can't write the save files.
"Unfortunately, the dragon only speaks in Napalm, a curious ancient language that you don't really need to speak to understand."
User avatar
EmperorJeramyu
Blana Sera
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:38 pm

Re: Cant Move Episode 1 Saves to Episode 2

Postby riceindabowl15 » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:49 pm

kk ty very much!
riceindabowl15
Wanderer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: Cant Move Episode 1 Saves to Episode 2

Postby Cavalier » Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:56 am

Alternatively, if you want to keep the game in the Program Files, you can run it as an administrator.
User avatar
Cavalier
Wanderer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 4:02 pm

Re: Cant Move Episode 1 Saves to Episode 2

Postby tridon777 » Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:51 am

Yes 7 and Vista suck in the sense that they automatically set the program file to read only. Its a security feature, but when you try to mod games its annoying as hell.
tridon777
Plyn
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:36 pm

Re: Cant Move Episode 1 Saves to Episode 2

Postby Sage Of The Wise » Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:31 pm

i must be smart and changed some setting back when i first got vista and 7, since I've never had this problem.
And the Lord said unto John, "Come forth and receive eternal life." But John came fifth and won a toaster.
User avatar
Sage Of The Wise
S3 Deralyn
 
Posts: 3300
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 1:30 pm

Re: Cant Move Episode 1 Saves to Episode 2

Postby EmperorJeramyu » Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:33 am

Yeah, if you right click on the exes for each game and set to run as administrator, that also works. Or just run rm2k/3 as administrator and play the games through test play. Alternatively, if you want to get rid of the issue altogether, I think turning off UAC will unrestrict the Program Files folder.
"Unfortunately, the dragon only speaks in Napalm, a curious ancient language that you don't really need to speak to understand."
User avatar
EmperorJeramyu
Blana Sera
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:38 pm

Re: Cant Move Episode 1 Saves to Episode 2

Postby tridon777 » Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:55 pm

That actually wont work. You have to unclick the read only attribute in the properties of program files. I learned this while modding AOE III. Make sure you finish modding what ever program since the read only attribute turns back on when you restart your computer. -.- I havnt figured out how to keep it off, I now just put programs that I mod in a special directory.
tridon777
Plyn
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:36 pm


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest